Report from the Cronkite Award Committee

 By Chairman Matthew Kauffman

In celebration of the 45th anniversary of Connecticut’s Freedom of Information Act, CFOG in 2020 will present the prestigious Cronkite Award to a deserving journalist who has advanced the cause of open government and an informed citizenry.

The Cronkite Award is named for renowned CBS News correspondent Walter Cronkite, recipient of the inaugural award in 1995. The Cronkite Award was last bestowed in 2015 at a ceremony honoring famed First Amendment lawyer Floyd Abrams, who reminded those in attendance that freedom of expression is fundamental to democracy and requires constant vigilance. Other past recipients include PBS NewsHour anchor Jim Lehrer, investigative reporter Seymour Hersh and Bob Woodward of the Washington Post.

A committee of CFOG board members is working to select a recipient for 2020 and to organize an awards ceremony and reception dinner, to be held toward the end of the year. Stay tuned for details and ticket information.