CFOG announces winners of the second annual Pearlman awards

Kevin Brookman, Bill Cummings, and Rhonda Stearley-Hebert

The Connecticut Foundation for Open Government (CFOG) recently announced the winners of the second annual Mitchell W. Pearlman Freedom of Information Award, which is given out to a journalist, government officials and Connecticut resident who made efforts to foster transparency.

CFOG directed this year’s awards to Bill Cummings, a reporter for Hearst Connecticut Media Group who uncovered how members of the Connecticut State Police allegedly fabricated traffic tickets; Rhonda Stearley-Hebert, the deputy director of communications for the state Judicial Branch, who fields hundreds of requests for the media and members of the public every year; and Kevin Brookman, a blogger who has used the Freedom of Information Act to uncover critical issues within the Hartford city government.

The winners will be honored at a reception on Thursday, Nov. 16 from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. at the Mark Twain House & Museum at 351 Farmington Ave. in Hartford. Tickets for the event are $25 a piece and can be purchased at TICKETS; scan the OR Code below; or by mailing a check with the number of desired tickets to Connecticut Foundation for Open Government, 35 Bunker Hill Road, Glastonbury, CT 06033.